ELIS 1.9 Manual

Step by Step Example Program Setup

Adding a track

As we add the track we can select the curriculum. As we can see in the diagram below, each track of a curriculum is built off the courses in the curriculum:

Track overview

We can navigate to the create track page in two ways:
  1. Go to the Curriculum Administration block > Curriculum > Manage Tracks link, then select the Add Track button.
  2. From the curriculum we just created, go to the Tracks tab and select the Add Track button.
In this example case the PM Level 1 curriculum has been preselected because I accessed the create track page from step 2 above. I'm checking the "Auto-create" checkbox, which will automatically create a class on the track for each course in the curriculum. Auto-create will also create a new Moodle course, if there is a Moodle template course attached to the the ELIS course.

Add track page

When using auto-create for classes you may see this message "WARNING!!! The code you are using is OLDER than the version that made these databases!". This is a normal debugging message and does not indicate an error.

Detail page of the track that was just created

Once the track is created, select the Classes tab to view the auto-created classes for the track. Make sure the settings for auto-created classes are correct. Auto-created classes will have the maximum number of students set to 0. Classes with the maximum number of students set to 0 will have no enrollment limit. If there is a class size limit be sure to edit the maximum number of students. Use the class link shown on the left hand side of the following image to go to the manage class screen.

Classes tab of track

To edit the auto-enroll settings for a class of the track, select the edit icon (pencil) shown on the right hand side of the previous image. A screen with a checkbox, "Auto-enroll users into this class when they are added to this track", will appear. Use the checkbox to edit the auto-enroll settings. The following image shows this setting.

Users can also be automatically added to the class from this screen with the "Enroll all users from this class now button". This is a helpful tool if you have added users to the track before auto-enroll was setup for the classes. This button will auto-enroll all users from the track in the class if they are not already enrolled. If the class is full, the user/users will be placed on the waitlist. User/users that have not completed a prerequisite course for the class will not be added to the class or waitlist until the prerequisite has been completed.

Track class edit page

Next we'll assign a cluster to this track. In this example we'll assign the PM-Level 1 cluster to this track.

Cluster tab of track

Once a cluster is selected a screen appears with auto-enroll settings.

Cluster tab of class auto-enroll settings

Save changes and the association is complete. This will load all users who have PM0 set for their Project Management profile field into this track of classes in Project Management.

Cluster tab of track

Now all the users in the PM - Level 1 cluster are enrolled in the classes of the PM-Level 1 - Track 1 track. To view the users, select the Users tab at the top of the screen.

If users are added to a track, they are added to a curriculum that the track is part of; but if users are added to a class only, they must be added to the track (or curriculum) manually.