ELIS 1.9 Manual

ELIS from a Learners Perspective

Learning Plan

The Learning Plan folder can be accessed by students in the Progress Reports block. There are three sections in the Learning Plan folder:
  • The "current classes" screen shows classes that you are enrolled in. You can link to their classes from this screen.
  • The "curriculum overview" shows curriculum you are enrolled in along with the courses for the curriculum and the user status for each course. You can also enroll in classes from this screen.
  • The "waitlist courses" shows courses that you have been added to the waitlist for.
User's view of the learning plan folder:
User view of Learning Plan

Th next image shows a user's view of the Current Classes screen. The user is currently enrolled in 1 class. The user can link to the class by selecting "Moodle course" link in the Class column.

User view of Current Classes screen in the Learning Plan

The following image shows the users view of the Curriculum Overview screen. This screen displays all the curricula the user is enrolled in. If the user is enrolled in the track of a curriculum but not the curriculum it makes no difference, they are displayed the same on this page. In all the examples on this page the user is enrolled in the curricula, not tracks.

This user is enrolled in 3 curricula. Enrolling users in curricula will allow them to choose which instances of the classes of the curricula they will enroll in. They will be able to choose from all available classes. If users are enrolling themselves in classes, the Curriculum Overview screen is where they will choose their classes.

If auto-enroll is going to be used, it would be best to add users to a track of a curriculum. Users won't have the option of enrolling themselves in classes when they are just added to the track, and tracks can be used to auto-enroll users in classes.

User curriculum overview in Learning Plan

In the following image the user selected a Choose Class link from the Curriculum Overview screen, which opens a screen with all available instances of classes that user can enroll in. Selecting the Choose link next to a class will open a confirmation screen, where the user must confirm their class enrollment. If classes have a maximum number of users already enrolled, the user can choose to be added to the class waitlist.

Choosing a class from list