ELIS 1.9 Manual

Setting up Tracks

Using tracks to auto-enroll

Tracks are the mechanism in ELIS to auto-enroll users.

In order to use ELIS to auto-enroll users, you need to follow these steps:

1. Create courses in ELIS.

2. Create a curriculum and add courses to it.

3. Create a new track from that curriculum. If you enable auto-create, the track will create the classes.
Create track page

4. Set the classes to auto-enroll in the track.
Classes tab of track
When classes are auto-created by ELIS, the maximum number of students for the class is set to zero by default. If set to zero, there will be no limit to the amount of users enrolled to the class. Be sure to set the maximum number of students for the class if there is a class limit. Select the class link, shown on the left side of the previous image, to go to the manage class screen and edit the maximum number of students for the class.

Select the pencil icon, shown on the right side of the previous image, to edit the auto-enroll settings. The screen in the following image will appear. Use the (1)checkbox to adjust the auto-enroll settings for the class.

Class auto-enroll setting

If you added users to the track before the class/classes were set to auto-enroll, you can use the (2)"Enroll all users from this track now" button.

Select it and all users assigned to the track will be enrolled in the class, if they were not already enrolled. If the class is full, the user/users will be placed on the waitlist.

If the user/users have not completed a prerequisite course for the class, they will not be added to the class or waitlist until the prerequisite has been completed.

5. Assign a user/users to the track. Users can be assigned individually or by clusters. The following image is showing the clusters tab of the track, I added a cluster to the track using the Add drop down menu.
Clusters tab of track

After selecting the cluster a screen appears with auto-enroll settings for the cluster-track association.

Auto-enroll settings for track-cluster association

Users added to the track by the cluster:
Users tab of track

The cluster of users, that were added to the track in the previous image, were auto-enrolled in the first class of the track. The following image shows the updated view of the classes tab of the track. The cluster had seven users, those seven users were added to the first class.

The first class of the track is a prerequisite of the second and third classes. Once the first class is completed by users, they will be automatically enrolled in the second and third classes of the track. If there were no prerequisite for the second and third classes, the users would have been auto-enrolled in all three classes at once.

Classes tab of a track

Now all users who have PM1 set in their Project Management Level profile field will be added to the Project Management Level One cluster, the PM-L1-T1 track, and if seats are available, auto-enrolled in the first class of the track.

This is a powerful feature, however, it can be a bit tricky to set all this up the first time.