ELIS Files Learning Object Repository 2.0 Manual

Recovering Files in Alfresco Recycle Bin

Repository user files that are deleted from the Alfresco interface are placed in the user's Alfresco recycle bin. Files in a user's recycle bin can be recovered by that user. If repository files are deleted from the Moodle Interface then the files will not be placed in the Alfresco recycle bin and can't be recovered.

To demonstrate how to recover files from the Alfresco recycle bin we will:
  1. Login to Alfresco as a user with content in their personal space
  2. Delete the content so it goes to their Alfresco recycle bin
  3. Go to their Alfresco recycle bin and recover the deleted item.

Go to the Alfresco Repository block and select "this link".
Alfresco block

Login to Alfresco using your Alfresco username shown in the block with your Moodle password.
Alfresco login screen

Go to the My Home screen and delete content.
Alfresco My Home screen

Select the User Profile link in the menu bar at the top of the page to access the recycle bin.
Alfresco user profile link

Select the Manage Deleted Items link at the bottom of the page.
Alfresco manage deleted items link

Select the recover icon next to the content that is being recovered.
Manage deleted items page

Confirm file recovery from Alfresco recycle bin and the file will be placed in the location it was deleted from, unless a new location is selected.
Confirm file recovery from Alfresco recycle bin