ELIS 2013 Manual

ELIS from a Learners Perspective

Learning Plan

The Learning Plan folder can be accessed by students in the Program Management block. There are three sections in the Learning Plan folder:
  • The "current classes" screen shows classes that you are enrolled in. You can link to their classes from this screen.
  • The "program overview" shows programs you are enrolled in along with the course descriptions for the program and the user status for each course description. You can also enroll in class instances from this screen.
  • The "waitlist courses" shows courses that you have been added to the waitlist for.
User's view of the learning plan folder:
Student users view of their Learning Plan folder

Th next image shows a user's view of the Current Classes screen. The user is currently enrolled in 2 classes. The user can link to the class by selecting a "Moodle course" link in the Class Instance column.

Student users view of their current classes screen

The following image shows the users view of the Program Overview screen. This screen displays all the programs the user is enrolled in. Enrolling users in programs only will allow them to choose which class instances of the program they will enroll in. Enrolling users in tracks will allow auto-enrollment in class instances.

This user is assigned to 3 programs. For the first program, auto-enroll is being used. The user was assigned to a track instance of the program which auto-enrolled them in the classes of the track. When the user was assigned to the track they are automatically enrolled in the associated program.

For the second program, self enroll is being used. The user has been assigned to a program, now the user can choose which class instances they enroll in on the Program Overview screen.

Student users view of the program overview screen

In the following image the user selected a Choose Class link from the Program Overview screen, which opens a screen with all available instances of classes that user can enroll in. Selecting the Choose link next to a class will open a confirmation screen, where the user must confirm their class enrollment. If classes have a maximum number of users already enrolled, the user can choose to be added to the class waitlist.

Learner's choose class page

In ELIS versions 2.3.3.1+, 2.4.3.1+, and 2.5.1.1+, a new setting allows users to self-unenroll from class instances. To enable this setting go to the Settings block > Site administration > Plugins > Enrollments > ELIS Program Manager enrollments and enable the "Allow unenrollments from course catalog" setting. This allows users to self-unenroll from a class instance if they have no grade data in the class instance.

The user can self-unenroll from a class on their Program Overview screen. The class instance name isn't actually shown on the Program Overview screen, just the course description the class is an instance of is shown. For course descriptions to show on the user's Program Overview screen, the course description must be assigned to a program and the user must be assigned to the program.

The following images demonstrate what a user will see when they self-unenroll from a class. The first image shows the user's Program Overview screen. The user selects the Unenroll link for the class they want to unenroll from.
User unerolling from class on Program Overview screen

Then a confirmation screen opens where the user can confirm or cancel the unenrollment.
Self-unenroll confirmation screen