ELIS 2014 Manual

Setting Up Class Instances

Enrollments Tab

The Enrollments tab for classes has two sections:
  1. Currently Enrolled screen: This screen is where enrolled users are listed and where grades and other completion information can be entered. This screen is shown in the following image.
  2. Enroll Students screen: This screen is where new users can be enrolled in the class.
  3. There is an additional link to the Enroll Student screen on the left hand side of the page.
Class Enrollments tab currently enrolled screen


Enroll Students Screen


To enroll new users in the class instance select one of the Enroll Students links, shown in the previous image. This will open the Enroll Students screen where users that can be enrolled in the class are listed. Above the list of users are the filters. The filters are configurable, so you can add just the filters you will use.

Class Enrollments tab enroll students screen

For this example I used the City/town filter, and selected Seattle and Portland. These are the users I want to enroll in the class. Users can be enrolled one at a time or in groups by using the Bulk Assignment box. To enroll a single user:
  1. Select the green Enroll icon on the right hand side of the user row.
  2. A confirmation message will appear. Select the green Check icon to confirm the enrollment in the class.
  3. The user's enrollment date, status, grade, credits, and locking can be edited when you confirm the enrollment.
Class Enrollments tab enroll students screen

To enroll the rest of the users from the filtered list I will use the Bulk Assignment box. All the users from the list can be added at once by selecting the (1) Add All Search Results button. Individual users or groups of users can be (2) dragged and dropped into the Bulk Assignment box as well.

Class Enrollments tab enroll students screen

Once the users have been added to the Bulk Assignment box you can:
  1. Select the Enroll icon to open the enrollment confirmation message.
  2. Select the green Check icon to confirm the enrollment in the class.
  3. The users enrollment date, status, grade, credits, and locking can be edited before confirming the enrollment.
  4. Clear all the users from the Bulk Assignment list by selecting the Clear button.
  5. Delete individual users from the Bulk Assignment list by hovering over the user row then selecting the red X icon.
Class Enrollments tab assign students screen


Currently Enrolled Screen


The Currently Enrolled screen displays users enrolled in the class. The filter options are the same on the Currently Enrolled screen as the Enroll Students screen, except you will be filtering users already enrolled in the class here. User's grades and completion information can be edited from this screen. Users can also be unenrolled from the class on this screen.

Class Enrollments tab currently enrolled scren

To edit the grades or completion information for an individual user select the edit icon to open the UI for editing grading information:
  1. Select the yellow Pencil icon on the right hand side of the user row. This will open a window with completion information and grades.
  2. The first section list class information that can be edited.
  3. Learning Objective grading information is listed below the class section.
  4. Select the green Check icon to complete the editing. This will open a confirmation screen where the green Check icon must be selected again to continue.
Class Enrollments tab currently enrolled screen

Another way to edit grades is to use the Bulk Edits box. Multiple users can be edited at once this way. Users can be dragged and dropped into the Bulk Edits box, multiple users can be selected for drag and drop by using Control + Select or Shift + Select. All the users currently listed can be added to the Bulk Edits box by selecting the Add All Search Results button, located inside the Bulk Edits box.

Class Enrollments tab currently enrolled screen

Once users are in the Bulk Edits box select the (1) Edit icon. This opens the (2) UI for editing completion information for the users in the Bulk Edits box. All the users will be assigned the same completion information. Edit the completion information then select the (3) green Check icon. This opens a confirmation message, select the green Check icon again to continue. To remove a user from the list, hover over their name and select the (4) red X icon, or use the (5) Clear button in the top right side of the box to remove all the users from the Bulk Edits box.

Class Enrollments tab currently enrolled screen